Ask A Librarian

Lansing Community College Library Services

Reference & Instruction Guide: Schedule

Policies, procedures, best practices and training guide, for reference and instruction services.

Adjunct Time Card Reporting

Every two weeks, you will be required to submit your online timecard to the Library Director. To access your Time Card, log in to the MyLCC Sign In with your LCC username and password. At your MyLCC page select the "Work" tab, then fin the "Time Reporting " box.  The following 3 steps are examples of time reporting for a part time employee.

Choosing the correct date under the row Lab Hours Pay -- Regular Pay Type, you can then enter the amount of hours worked for that particular day by selecting Enter Hours. Hours can also be adjusted once entered. If you are viewing the previous week of the current pay period, you can select Next to view the second week of the current pay period.

Once you have selected Enter Hours, check to make sure your entry screen reflects the correct date. You will then enter the amount of hours worked for that date, then select Save. Your entry should then be reflected on the pay grid.

Once your hours for the current pay period have been completed, select Submit for Approval. The due date for submission is the final Friday of the pay period by 10:00 am unless otherwise notified by Human Resources. Your submission is then completed. If there is need for further action from you, you will be notified by the Library Director.

When To Work

Reference Schedule Process

  • Library Director will indicate by email or announcement when to enter your work availability into When to Work (W2W) and to have it completed by a specific date.
  • A draft schedule will be created for review and to suggest changes.
  • One week before the semester starts, the Library Director will post the final official schedule.

Entering Work Availability for Reference and Instruction Scheduling:

  • Sign into your W2W account.
  • Select Prefs from the dark blue menu at the top of the page.
  • In the "My Work Time Preferences" weekly chart use the designations for specific days / times you will:
    •  Cannot Work:  off campus (include evenings & weekends).
      • Include known & approved conferences and workshops you'll be attending off-campus.
    •  Dislike:   meetings scheduled.
      • Recurring campus committee meeting times that you are serving on.
      • Library team meetings if you are serving as team leader.
      • Include conferences and workshops you'll be attending on-campus.
    • Prefer:  evening shifts only.
      • Use to indicate availability to be scheduled for an evening shift.
      • If you are available multiple evenings, send John an email with your preferences prioritized.
      • These Prefer shifts may be removed after the official semester Ref Services schedule is published.
  • With the exception of Cannot Work, all other times are subject for scheduling reference & instruction shift assignments during library open hours.

 

 

  1. The trading of desk, virtual, and roving reference shifts should be kept to a minimum. Sometimes librarians may need to trade shifts. When using pre-scheduled sick time on your timesheet for doctor appointments or other health related absences, you should arrange for a trade of your shift. Do not drop your shift without approval or an arranged trade.

  2. To arrange a trade, use the Tradeboard or the drop feature in W2W when arranging for someone to cover your shift.

  3. Partial shift coverage:
    a)  When needing part of your reference shift covered, arrange for a trade with another librarian. Be aware that W2W software does not allow for partial shift trades to appear on the schedule.
    b)  Send an email to the library staff (SS-LIBRARYSTAFF@.lcc.edu) list and indicate the librarian covering what portion of the assigned shift.

Dropping a reference shift without a trade is only allowed with the approval of the Library Director or Reference Lead Librarian.

  1. With granted approval, you will drop all shifts impacted by your absence. Update your W2W My Work Time Preferences to the red color Cannot Work option for the Instruction Librarian’s scheduling options on that particular date and time.
  2. The Director or Reference Lead will make arrangements for the vacant reference shift to be covered.

 

  • On occasion unforeseen circumstances may conflict with reference / instruction assignments (ie, jury duty, bereavement, and other emergencies). These situations should be brought to the attention of the Library Director as soon as possible.
  • The Library Director will make arrangements to cover the librarian's reference / instruction assignments.
    • Reference Lead and Instruction Librarians may be consulted for shift coverage.
    • Librarian will follow the W2W Dropping Shift process with the Library Director or Reference Lead approval.
  • All librarians should e-mail the staff distribution list (SS-LIBRARYSTAFF@lcc.edu) whenever they will be away from campus.

To attend a conference and / or write a conference proposal you must complete the divisional Travel Request Form.  See Budget Coordinator for current form access.

  1. With granted approval, you will need to drop all shifts impacted by your absence in W2W.
  2. Update your W2W preferences for that date and time to the red color Cannot Work option for the Instruction Librarian's scheduling options.

W2W Reference Shifts with some definitions and clarifications as needed:

  • Reference Desk
  • Chat 
    • Part of Virtual Reference services shift to cover the Research Help Now Michigan Collaborative.
    • This also includes responding to email reference and chat follow-up transcripts.
  • Double Coverage 
    • Two shifts in the same time span.
    • Provides shared learning experiences with assigned librarians, as well as having students not wait for research help..
    • Only to be single coverage for Instruction sessions as needed or Ref Appt requests.
    • If you are scheduled during a double shift and need to attend a meeting or appointment, find a substitute.
      • Get permission to leave a Ref double coverage shift from Library Director if no substitute available.
  • Backup
    • Evening shifts have a Ref Desk & Backup assigned.
    • This provides for ease of scheduling Instruction sessions as requested for evenings.
    • Backup person will take over Ref Desk shift if that individual is absent due to illness.
    • Backup may work on projects in their office during this scheduled time.
      • Must indicate work time on the Weekly Work Schedule.
  • Appointment
    • Indicates that an appointment has been requested, date & time, first name student / employee, and the name of Librarian assigned the service.
  • Roving - WC
    • Librarian stationed at West Campus Learning Commons.
    • To provide onsite Reference / Research Help as needed.
    • Connects with all the location service areas, labs, and programs to address LCC Library questions.
    • Refers to downtown campus services, as well as surround areas to help students in the Technical Careers Divisional classes.
  • MLIS Student
    • Identifies a Library Student to be observing Reference Librarians at the Reference Desk.
    • Helps the other public service areas know Librarian to be referred to when students need help.

Absence / Lateness

  1. Leave a message at (517) 483-1647 or send an e-mail to the library staff distribution list (SS-LIBRARYSTAFF@lcc.edu).
    1. Message / e-mail should indicate if a reference or instruction will be impacted by your absence / lateness.  See the Chat Procedures tab if you are seeking permission to provide virtual reference from off campus.
    2. If late, indicate your expected time of arrival.
  2. When a voicemail is received, department office staff will send an e-mail to library staff and contact the Reference Lead and Liaison Librarian (R&L)/Instructional Services Librarian appropriately if a reference service will be impacted. R&L Librarian will confirm the absent librarian's reference assignment and make arrangements to cover the absent librarian's reference shift(s).
    1. Virtual Reference (VR Coordinator may be asked to follow guidelines in the Research Help Now policy manual to request a substitute from another library in collaborative if needed. If the VR Coordinator is not available, the R&L Librarian will contact the collaborative.
    2. Instructional Services Librarian will make arrangements regarding the absent librarian’s instruction assignment.
  3. R&L Librarian will e-mail library staff to notify who will be covering the vacant reference shift(s).

Note: In the absence of the R&L Librarian or the Instructional Services Librarian, the Library Director will serve as backup for finding substitutes.

Librarians who are either late or to be absent for this assigned shift on a Saturday must leave a message for that day's User Services Supervisor at (517) 483-1626.  Also send an email to the SS-LIBREF list so the Sunday Librarian is aware of absence.

  • The Reference Desk will not be staffed.
  • The User Services Supervisor on duty will direct reference inquiries to the Ask A Librarian options on the library's website.

Absence: 

If an emergency or illness occurs before your scheduled Sunday shift, contact the following people in the order provided via cell phone and / or text message:

  1. Elenka Raschkow  
  2. Suzanne Sawyer 
  3. Robin Moore 
  4. John Szilagyi

Emergency contact phone numbers for all staff are listed in the N: Drive. Please have all numbers programmed into your cell phone or on your person in case of an emergency.

N:/SA-Division/Learning-Assistance/Budget-Human-Resources/Human-Resources/Employee-Contact/Staff-Information

Late:

If you are going to be late for your Sunday shift, contact Robin Moore, who will be able to contact the students who are assigned to the Sunday shift.