It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources at LCC: Biology
Learn how to find and use OER materials in teaching and learning.
The QUBES platform hosts hundreds of teaching materials, reference materials, and cloud-based software free to use and adapts using open Creative Commons licenses.
One of the best places for STEM OER/Open Ped is QUBES. There are lab exercises, assignments, teaching resources, learning communities, peer mentoring networks and more.
Covers the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.
A dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
Focuses on experimental support for what we know about cell and molecular biology. Written to serve as the introductory biology course for biology majors with high school chemistry and biology prerequisites as well as for “gateway” cell and molecular biology courses for students with a college-level general biology and general chemistry course background.
The Boundless Microbiology textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the subject of Microbiology, one of the building blocks of the life sciences. Boundless works with subject matter experts to select the best open educational resources available on the web, review the content for quality, and create introductory, college-level textbooks designed to meet the study needs of university students.
A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.
Browse through resources on biology and other biology-related concepts.
LCC Library Resources
The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, journals, images, videos, and more that can be used to supplement textbooks and course materials. Although these are not OER, they are free to LCC students and can be linked to in D2L. Learn about library resources as course materials.