There There - Orange - Beyond the Book (2020-2021) - Research Guides at Lansing Community College Library

Book

Availability at LCC Library

About the Author Tommy Orange

Urban Rez Documentary

100 Years: One Woman's Fight for Justice for Native Americans

Carved from the Heart: A Portrait of Grief, Healing and Community

Content Warning: This documentary includes the discussion of abuse, self-harm and suicide, death, and mental illness. LCC Counseling Services is free to all currently-enrolled LCC students and can be reached by phone at (517) 483-1924 if you need help. If you are not an LCC community member and you are contemplating self-harm please contact the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255 for free, confidential support.

Tommy Orange on "There There"

Online Resources

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Contains historical documents, reference titles, and full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

HeinOnline - Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties Provides online access to government documents and legal research journals. Contains coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, scholarly journals, the world's constitutions, U.S. treaties, presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
Nokomis Cultural Heritage Center "The Nokomis Cultural Heritage Center is dedicated to the preservation of the History, Arts and Culture of the Anishinaabe people - Ojibwe, Odawa and Potawatmi nations." - Nokomis Cultural Heritage Center Mission Statement
Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways "The Ziibiwing Center is a distinctive treasure created to provide an enriched, diversified and culturally relevant educational experience. This promotes the society's belief that the culture, diversity and spirit of the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan and other Great Lakes Anishinabek must be recognized, perpetuated, communicated and supported." - Ziibiwing Center Homepage

Anishinaabe Radio News "Tune in during Morning Edition and All Things Considered for Anishinaabe Radio News, a new partnership between Public Radio 90 and the Center for Native American Studies at NMU. Host April Lindala will explore Native American history and culture and keep you up to date on Indigenous events at Northern and across the Great Lakes Region." - Anishinaabe Radio News Homepage
First Nations Experience "FNX | First Nations Experience is the first and only national broadcast television network in the United States exclusively devoted to Native American and World Indigenous content. Through Native-produced and themed documentaries, dramatic series, nature, cooking, gardening, children's and arts programming, FNX strives to accurately illustrate the lives and cultures of Native people around the world." - First Nations Experience About Us page
Indian Country Today "Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. Our digital platform covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is also a public media broadcast carried via public television stations, including FNX: First Nations Experience and Arizona PBS World channel." - Indian Country Today About Us page
National Native News "National Native News provides listeners with relevant, timely coverage on Native American and Indigenous communities. NNN appeals to radio listeners who are engaged in the world around them and who seek out a broader range of viewpoints." - NNN About Us page
Native News Online "Native News Online delivers important daily news that affects the lives of Native Americans nationwide. Founded in 2011, Native News Online reaches millions of Native and non Native readers annually including American Indians, Alaska Natives and others interested in American Indian concerns." - Native News Online About Us page

First Nations Development Institute - Urban Native Project "The project’s goal is to support new and expanded activities in urban American Indian environments with the goal of improving opportunities that can be attained in all Native American urban communities." - Urban Native Project Homepage
Indigenous Youth Empowerment Program - Lansing Area "IYEP is a program for all Indigenous youth and families of Ingham County. The program strives for community-building through traditional knowledge, empowering Indigenous youth through cultural awareness, emphasizing and assisting the importance of academics." - Indigenous Youth Empowerment Program Homepage
National Urban Indian Family Coalition "NUIFC advocates for American Indian families living in urban areas by creating partnerships with tribes, as well as other American Indian organizations, and by conducting research to better understand the barriers, issues, and opportunities facing urban American Indian families." - National Urban Indian Family Coalition About page

Project 562 "Matika Wilbur, a visual storyteller from the Swinomish and Tulalip peoples of coastal Washington, for the past five years has been traveling and photographing Indian Country in pursuit of one goal: To Change the Way We See Native America." - Matikawilbur.com About page
The 1491s "The 1491s are a sketch comedy group based in the wooded ghettos of Minnesota and buffalo grass of Oklahoma. They are a gaggle of Indians chock full of cynicism and splashed with a good dose of indigenous satire" - The 1491s Homepage
Pluralism Project: Native American Traditions - Harvard University "The Pluralism Project is an over twenty-five year ongoing research project from Harvard University that engages students in studying the new religious diversity in the United States." - Pluralism Project Mission page

National Council of Urban Indian Health "The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) is the national organization devoted to the support and development of quality, accessible, and culturally-competent health services for American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/ANs) living in urban settings." - NCUIH Homepage
National Indigenous Women's Resource Center "The National Indigenous Women’s Resource Center, Inc. (NIWRC) is a Native non-profit organization dedicated to restoring the sovereignty of Native nations and safeguarding Native women and their children." - NIWRC About Us page
Indian Health Service "The Indian Health Service (IHS) is the principal federal health care provider and health advocate for Indian people, and its goal is to raise their health status to the highest possible level. The IHS provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives." - IHS About, Agency Overview page
Native American Affairs - Department of Health & Human Services "Our Native American Affairs office provides a broad range of social services to protect, preserve and strengthen Native American families both on and off tribal lands. We support an Indian population of approximately 130,000 with various services provided in partnership with Michigan's federally recognized tribes, the state historic tribes, Indian organizations, federal government and other community and state organizations." - Native American Services page

Blood Memory: A Story of Removal and Return Documentary Website "For Sandy White Hawk, the story of America’s Indian Adoption Era is not one of saving children but of destroying families and tribes. At 18 months of age, Sandy was removed from her Sicangu Lakota relatives and placed with white missionaries over 400 miles from the reservation. Growing up as the only brown girl in a small Wisconsin town, Sandy’s cultural identity was rejected, leaving her feeling ugly, alone and unworthy of love. After a 30-year struggle through abuse and recovery, Sandy set out to restore the missing pieces of her stolen past and reclaim the Lakota identity she was taught to disown. She soon discovered that her adoption was not an isolated case but part of a nationwide assimilative movement that targeted American Indian children." - Blood Memory About page
Dawnland Documentary Film "For decades, child welfare authorities have been removing Native American children from their homes to “save them from being Indian.” In Maine, the first official Truth and Reconciliation Commission in the United States begins a historic investigation. Dawnland goes behind-the-scenes as this historic body grapples with difficult truths, redefines reconciliation, and charts a new course for state and tribal relations." - Dawnland Homepage
National Indian Child Welfare Agency The "National Indian Child Welfare Agency (NICWA) works to support the safety, health, and spiritual strength of American Indian and Alaska Native children along the broad continuum of their lives. We support tribes in building the capacity to prevent child abuse and neglect through positive systems change at the state, federal, and tribal levels. We are the most comprehensive source of information on American Indian and Alaska Native child welfare." - NICWA About page

Faculty Resources

There There Reader’s Guide - Penguin Random House This reader's guide for There There was created by Penguin Random House, the company that published this book.
Native Knowledge 360° Lessons & Resources - National Museum of the American Indian "NK360° provides educational materials and teacher training that incorporate Native narratives, more comprehensive histories, and accurate information to enlighten and inform teaching and learning about Native America. NK360° challenges common assumptions about Native peoples—their cultures, their roles in United States and world history, and their contributions to the arts, sciences, and literature. NK360° offers a view that includes not only the past but also the richness and vibrancy of Native peoples and cultures today." - Native Knowledge 360° About page