Provides streaming access to educational videos from producers including BBC, PBS, TED, A&E, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, National Geographic, and others. Use these browsers for viewing films: Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. To access Kanopy from off-campus, select "Log in to LCC" at the first screen, "Log in to LCC" at the second screen, and select the "Skip" button on the third screen. This will take you to the main Kanopy page.
To view Kanopy licensed titles and for help with the Kanopy request form, see the Kanopy Library Guide
This database includes thousands of streaming educational videos, including many that deal with the themes of death, dying, and global funeral traditions. Such as the National Geographic Production, "Taboo: After Death" which is embedded below.
Global Road WarriorThis link opens in a new windowCovers 175 countries and addresses 22 categories of interest to travelers, including business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs.
World GeographyThis link opens in a new windowCountry profiles and overviews of 200+ countries that includes history, population statistics, climate, economics, culture, maps, flags, and primary source documents.
Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia"This cultural encyclopedia examines customs and beliefs relating to death and burial in clear, well written articles covering most major religious and cultural traditions from prehistoric to modern times. Readers of Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia will find that spending time with death is life-giving in most cultures today and throughout history...This comprehensive reference work contains hundreds of entries on the sometimes obscure, complicated, and mysterious (but always fascinating) funeral customs of dozens of cultures. More than a gathering of information, this reference draws out the underlying meaning of funeral and afterlife traditions. Each entry is extensively documented and includes the insights of thoughtful native authors and commentaries directly related to the cultural topic at hand."
Death Cafe"At a Death Cafe people, often strangers, gather to eat cake, drink tea and discuss death. Our objective is 'to increase awareness of death with a view to helping people make the most of their (finite) lives'." - Death Cafe's About page
Order of the Good Death"The Order is about making death a part of your life. That means committing to staring down your death fears- whether it be your own death, the death of those you love, the pain of dying, the afterlife (or lack thereof), grief, corpses, bodily decomposition, or all of the above. Accepting that death itself is natural, but the death anxiety and terror of modern culture are not." - The Order Homepage
Talk Death"TalkDeath’s mission is to encourage positive and constructive conversations around death and dying...aims to bridge the gap between death professionals and the general public, helping you make informed end-of-life decisions." - TalkDeath's About Us page
A-Z of Death and Dying"This engaging and informative resource provides readers with an understanding of the social, cultural, and historical influences that shape our encounters with death, dying, and bereavement--a universal experience across humanity. Written...by leading international scholars and practitioners from within the field of death and bereavement studies...providing in a single volume insights from some of the key thinkers within the interdisciplinary field of death, dying, and bereavement."
aGreenerFuneral.org"The goal of this website and accompanying resources is to educate the general public about ways in which they can leave a lighter footprint on this earth by selecting a greener funeral." - aGreenerFuneral About page
Green Burial Council"Our mission is to inspire and advocate for environmentally sustainable, natural death care through education and certification." - Green Burial Council About, Our Mission page
Eternal Reefs"An Eternal Reef combines a cremation urn, ash scattering, and burial at sea into one meaningful, permanent environmental tribute to life. An Eternal Reef is a designed reef made of environmentally-safe cast concrete that is used to create new marine habitats for fish and other forms of sea life" - What is an Eternal Reef? page
Let Your Love Grow"When a loved one passes, we feel an innate desire to return them to the earth. But cremated ashes are actually harmful to our environment when planted or scattered. Until now. Let Your Love Grow is the world’s first all-organic mixture designed to offset the natural toxicity of ash and invite new life to flourish." - Let Your Love Grow Homepage
Bereavement - MedlinePlus"MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising." - MedlinePlus About page
The Compassionate Friends"The Compassionate Friends provides highly personal comfort, hope, and support to every family experiencing the death of a son or a daughter, a brother or a sister, or a grandchild, and helps others better assist the grieving family." - The Compassionate Friends About page
Ele's PlaceIn Lansing and Ann Arbor, "Ele’s Place is a non-profit, community based organization dedicated to creating awareness of and support for grieving children and their families." - Ele's Place About Us page
Lory's PlaceIn St. Joseph, "Lory's Place provides regularly scheduled peer support group sessions that allow children and adults to interact with peers who have suffered similar loss, or who are experiencing anticipatory grief." - Lory's Place About page
Open to Hope"To provide an online forum to support people who have experienced loss: to help them cope with their pain, heal their grief and invest in their future."- Open to Hope About Us page