Story & Memory - Capital Area One Book - There There (2019-2020) - Research Guides at Lansing Community College Library

Discussion Questions

How has your community's history affected you? How has it affected other communities?

How do you balance honoring your people's history and memory with creating your own story and identity?

What role does storytelling play in There There? Why do you think it is important for a community's stories to be told by that community?

Native History Online Sources

Research Databases

American History Online This link opens in a new window Comprehensive and authoritative reference to individuals, events, and topics in U.S. history. Thousands of entries include topical reports, biographies, maps, timelines, primary source documents and images.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window Covers U.S. and world history topics, featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents. Includes documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. Also includes biographies of historical figures. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Contains historical documents, reference titles, and full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

HeinOnline - Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties Provides online access to government documents and legal research journals. Contains coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, scholarly journals, the world's constitutions, U.S. treaties, presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Websites

Nokomis Cultural Heritage Center "The Nokomis Cultural Heritage Center is dedicated to the preservation of the History, Arts and Culture of the Anishinaabe people - Ojibwe, Odawa and Potawatmi nations." - Nokomis Cultural Heritage Center Mission Statement
Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways "The Ziibiwing Center is a distinctive treasure created to provide an enriched, diversified and culturally relevant educational experience. This promotes the society's belief that the culture, diversity and spirit of the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan and other Great Lakes Anishinabek must be recognized, perpetuated, communicated and supported." - Ziobiwing Center About page
Indians of the Midwest - The Newberry and The NEH
Native American and Indigenous History and Culture Collections Gallery - Smithsonian Institution "The Smithsonian holds thousands of museum collections, archives, books, and more related to the history of Native Americans and Indigenous communities of the world. Many of these materials were created or collected by the United States National Museum’s (now the National Museum of Natural History) Bureau of American Ethnology and by the George Heye Foundation during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. These collections comprise the largest set of Indigenous and Native materials within the Smithsonian, now held in the National Anthropological Archives and the National Museum of the American Indian." - Native American and Indigenous History and Culture page
Museum of Indian Arts and Culture Online Exhibitions "The Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, one of four museums in the Museum of New Mexico system, is a premier repository of Native art and material culture and tells the stories of the people of the Southwest from pre-history through contemporary art" - Museum of Indian Arts and Culture About Us page

100 Years: One Woman's Fight for Justice for Native Americans

A Tribe Called Red: "We are the Halluci Nation"

Books

Native News

Anishinaabe Radio News "Tune in during Morning Edition and All Things Considered for Anishinaabe Radio News, a new partnership between Public Radio 90 and the Center for Native American Studies at NMU. Host April Lindala will explore Native American history and culture and keep you up to date on Indigenous events at Northern and across the Great Lakes Region." - Anishinaabe Radio News Homepage
First Nations Experience "FNX | First Nations Experience is the first and only national broadcast television network in the U.S. exclusively devoted to Native American and World Indigenous content." - First Nations Experience About page
Indian Country Today "Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is the largest news site that covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas." - Indian Country Today About Us page
National Native News "(NNN) National Native News provides listeners with relevant, timely coverage on Native American and Indigenous communities." - NNN About Us page
Native News Online "Native News Online delivers important daily news that affects the lives of Native Americans nationwide" - Native News Online About Us page
National Congress of American Indians "Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities." - NCAI About NCAI page
Turtle Talk Blog "The leading blog on legal issues in Indian Country." - Turtle Talk Homepage
PowWows.com Find a Pow Wow near you.

Capital Area One Book - There There (2019-2020): Story & Memory