It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
One Book One LCC - The True American (2015-2016): Home
Resources for One Book One LCC 2015-16 - The True American
One Book One LCC is now under the Office of Diversity and Inclusion and is called Beyond the Book. All members of the LCC community are invited to join in the reading of compelling and thought-provoking books and attend events related to their themes. Visit the Beyond the Book website for information.
The True American tells the story of Raisuddin Bhuiyan, a Bangladesh Air Force officer who dreams of immigrating to America and working in technology. But days after 9/11, an avowed "American terrorist" named Mark Stroman, seeking revenge, walks into the Dallas minimart where Bhuiyan has found temporary work and shoots him, maiming and nearly killing him. Two other victims, at other gas stations, aren’t so lucky, dying at once.
The True American traces the making of these two men, Stroman and Bhuiyan, and of their fateful encounter. It follows them as they rebuild shattered lives—one striving on Death Row to become a better man, the other to heal and pull himself up from the lowest rung on the ladder of an unfamiliar country.
Anand Giridharadas TED Talk
Databases to Help You Research Topics from True American
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
MasterFILE CompleteThis link opens in a new windowLarge collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books, including Consumer Reports. Covers subjects including: business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Also includes photos, maps, and flags. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowProvides information about “hot social issues” from a variety of resources: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference resources, magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to web sites. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org