Skip to Main Content

Public Speaking: Research

This guide provides students, staff, and faculty with resources to research and present oral and visual information effectively.

Need a Topic?

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
SIRS (Social Issues Resource Series) This link opens in a new window

Bridge Magazine - Topics

Michigan Information

Michigan Newspapers This link opens in a new window

One Minute Paper

One Minute Paper

Not Sure Where to Start?

Use Research Databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals, as well as e-books, videos, and images.

General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for information from millions of journals, magazines, news sources, and media programs covering a wide-range of topics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary research database covering over 160 subject areas. An excellent source for peer-reviewed scholarly resources.

Find

Statistics
Find general, business,crime, demographic, education, federal, employment, health, and Michigan statistics.
Quotations
Find a quotation for your speech.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Find background information from encyclopedias.

Encyclopedias & Reference Databases
Find the variety of encyclopedias & reference publications available.

Evaluate

CRAAP Test
Evaluate information using the CRAAP test criteria of currency, relevancy, authority, accuracy, and purpose.
Evaluating Sources
Learn about the "Information Cycle." Plus scholarly sources and media literacy.

Synthesizing Sources

Research & Synthesizing Multiple Sources
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) research overview on how synthesizing your sources.

Cite Your Sources

Citing Sources
Help citing sources in MLA or APA Style.
Plagiarism
Learn what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.
Annotated Bibliographies
Purdue OWL's helpful hints about creating annotated bibliographies, includes samples and examples.
Annotated Bibliography guide
Skidmore College Library guide with examples.

Help

Your Liaison

Email Me

Contact:

Liaison to Communication, Sign Language, and Mathematics

5174839710