It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
One Book One LCC is now under the Office of Diversity and Inclusion and is called Beyond the Book. All members of the LCC community are invited to join in the reading of compelling and thought-provoking books and attend events related to their themes. Visit the Beyond the Book website for information.
Big Questions about Success
What does success mean to you?
What does it take to be successful?
What do you think is the most important factor in success?
Outliers: The Story of Success
Review of Outliers
Gladwell, author and journalist, sets out to provide an understanding of success using outliers, men and women with skills, talent, and drive who do things out of the ordinary. He contends that we must look beyond the merits of a successful individual to understand his culture, where he comes from, his friends and family, and the community values he inherits and shares. We learn that society's rules play a large role in who makes it and who does not. Success is a gift, and when opportunities are presented, some people have the strength and presence of mind to seize them, exhibiting qualities such as persistence and doggedness. Successful people are the products of history and community, of opportunity and legacy, and success ultimately is not exceptional or unattainable, nor does it depend upon innate ability. It is an attitude of willingness to try without regard for the sacrifice required. This is an excellent book for a wide range of library patrons.--Whaley, Mary Copyright 2008 Booklist
Databases to Help You Research Topics from Outliers
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
MasterFILE CompleteThis link opens in a new windowLarge collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books, including Consumer Reports. Covers subjects including: business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Also includes photos, maps, and flags. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowProvides information about “hot social issues” from a variety of resources: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference resources, magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to web sites. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org