Research Guides: History: Media

Images

Photo by George G. Bain, courtesy of the Library of Congress

Library of Congress- Prints & Photographs
The Library of Congress have extensive collections, including an online catalog of historical photographs, posters, illustrations, and prints.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Art images and reproductions you can download when you register for a free account. Register on the site to save and download images.

The Digital Public Library
Over 33 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
The Smithsonian
The extensive collections cover almost every facet of the our nation's history.
NYPL Digital Collections
The New York Public library offers a "living database" that is updated daily. Featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
The U.S. National Archives on Flickr
A collection of digitized materials from the U.S. National Archives.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
A collection of historical images and stories from LIFE magazine.
Library of Congress - Digital Audio Collections
Music, oral histories, political speeches and interviews.

Films on Demand Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Archival and historical films including recordings of historic speeches and events.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to educational videos, films and documentaries. Includes videos from: BBC, PBS, TED, A&E, National Geographic, and others. To access Kanopy from off-campus, select "Log in to LCC" at the first screen, "Log in to LCC" at the second screen, and select the "Skip" button on the third screen. This will take you to the main Kanopy page.
To view Kanopy licensed titles and for help with the Kanopy request form, see the Kanopy Library Guide

The Digital Public Library
Over 33 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.

Marie Curie became the first women to win the Nobel Prize

in Physics and Chemistry.Universal Images Group- Getty Images