Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lansing Community College Library

Integrate the Library into D2L: Videos

Learn how to add library resources to your D2L course.

Adding Links or Embedding Streaming Video in D2L

The Library provides access to streaming educational video through two video databases, Films on Demand and Kanopy Streaming Video. You can embed or link to videos in D2L through these two databases.    Use  "Find Videos" to discover videos from the two streaming video databases and other videos available in other databases.

Embed Videos (Kanopy or Films on Demand)

It is easier to embed videos in D2L if you have two windows or tabs open.

In a first window/tab:

  1. Go to Films on Demand or Kanopy.
  2. Locate the film (or film segment) that you want to embed in your D2L course.
  3. Click on the title of the film.
  4. Click on Share/Embed under the title of the films.
  5. Copy the complete Embed Code.

In the second window/tab:

  1. Log in to D2L.
  2. Click on Content.
  3. Select the Module you want to object to appear in or create a new Module.
  4. Select New and then Create a File.
  5. Enter a Title. D2L does not accept long titles, so enter just the first part of the title before the colon.
  6. Select the Insert Stuff button.
  7. Select Enter Embed Code and paste the embed code.
  8. Click Next. and then click Allow.
  9. Click on Insert.
  10. Publish the document.

Embed Videos (Search Films on Demand in D2L)

  1. Log in to your D2L account.
  2. Click on Content and select the Module you want to embed a Films on Demand video in.
  3. Select New and then Create a File.
  4. Enter a Title. D2L does not accept long titles, so enter just the first part of the title before the colon.
  5. Click on the Insert Stuff button.
  6. Select Films on Demand.
  7. Search for a video until you find one you want to embed.
  8. To embed the selected video, click the Embed button and select the Embed Small option.
  9. Click on Insert.
  10. Publish the document.

Link to a Video

  1. Go to Films on Demand or Kanopy.
  2. Locate a video.
  3. Click on the title of the video.
  4. Click on the Embed Link or the Share Link below the video summary.
  5. Copy the video record URL.

Link to Videos about a Subject

Films on Demand

  1. Go to Films on Demand.
  2. Browse the videos by clicking on MENU at the top left side of the page. In the drop down list select Browse Videos to see video topics.
  3. Click on Page Link at the top of the page on the right side. Then click on "Highlight" to copy the URL.  For example, you could link to the Environmental Science Video Collection.  Unfortunately, you cannot create URLS for subtopics in a collection.

Kanopy

  1. Go to Kanopy.
  2. Browse the videos by clicking on the Browse dropdown menu at the top of the page to the right of the search box. You can use the  dropdown menu to narrow your results by subtopics and genres.
  3. After you select a subject, click on URL in the browser to highlight and copy the URL for a particular subject or genre. For example, you could link to the Business Skills Collection.

Create Playlists

You can create custom playlists by putting together individual videos. Before you can set up a playlist, you must create an account so you can save your playlist.

Instructions for creating and sharing custom video playlists are available at:

Want to Adopt this Guide?

Creative Commons logo

Lansing Community College Library Integrate the Library into D2L Research Guide page: Videos by Frances Krempasky and Suzanne Sawyer is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.