Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lansing Community College Library

Collection Management: Our Collection

This guide is a one-stop-shop for librarians and staff to learn more about the Library's collection development policy and how to develop, manage, and evaluate our collections to support student success at LCC.

Collection Type

1. Books/Monographs

  • Collected in cloth bound editions and are usually circulating. They are located at the 3rd floor.

2. Reference Materials

  • Include, but are not limited to encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, atlases, directories, indexes, statistical compilations, handbooks.
  • Items in the reference circulation do not circulate and for room use only. These are located at the 3rd floor and some are at the Reference Desk.

3. Career Collection

  • Located on the 3rd floor behind the Reference desk. Some are circulating while some are for library use only (Career Collection Reference).

4. Course Reserves

  • These are textbooks (both core and non-core courses) and audio-visual materials that are available for checkouts (usually for 2-hours with some at 48-hours). These items are located on the 3rd floor at the Circulation Desk.

5. Leisure Reading

  • These are mostly popular or bestselling fiction or non-fiction books. Library staff sign up to be the "selector" of the month. These materials are solely for use of LCC students, faculty and staff and are not circulated via MeLCat.  These books are located at the 3rd floor.

6. ESOL Collection

  • The English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) collection provides leisure reading and supplemental materials for reading and ESL students. These are located at the 3rd floor beside the Career Collection.

7. Newspapers, Magazines, Journals

  • Current newspapers,magazines, and journals are on display at the 3rd floor periodicals display shelves. Past issues of magazines and journals are at the periodicals shelving area (2nd floor) just after the reference books shelves.

8. Video Games

  • Video games are located at the 3rd floor Multimedia Desk and can be checked out for use at the Gaming Room.

10. Electronic Resources

  • Research Databases
  • E-Books 
  • E-Journals
  • Government Documents -- MARCIVE supplies us with online government documents freely available in the web.
  • Streaming video 

11. Multimedia Materials

 Available for checkout at the Help Desk and includes:

  • Laptops
  • Calculators

Other Materials We Catalog

1. Learning Commons 

  • We catalog items that are newly added in the Learning Commons. Items that were previously from the LSARC are now included in this collection. All of their items are searchable in the online catalog. These materials are located at the Arts & Sciences Building Room 108.

2. Center for Teaching Excellence 

  •  Materials that CTE purchases are catalogued and searchable in the online catalog. These materials are located at TLC324.

3. The Early College (TEC)

  • We catalog and process all textbooks for the Early College for checkout to their students. However, these items are all suppressed from the catalog.