Research Guides: Nursing: Healthcare Culture Competency

Recommended Resource

Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by Larry D. Purnell, Eric A. Fenkl
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles 26 different culture and religious groups. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. (Springer)

Culturally Competent Care Sheets
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides over 400 cultural competency care sheets on a variety of religions, ethnicities, and marginalized communities

These websites have good information about working with different cultures in a healthcare setting.

Locate the country where a cultural group lives to find information about clothing, food, population, family, and religions.

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reports with information about daily life and culture, history, and geography for countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces and territories.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the academic version of the complete encyclopedia and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Also includes access to a world atlas, articles, images, videos, and audio files.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Covers 175 countries and addresses 22 categories of interest to travelers, including business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs.
World Geography This link opens in a new window
Country profiles and overviews of 200+ countries that includes history, population statistics, climate, economics, culture, maps, flags, and primary source documents.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from nursing, medical and allied health journals; includes Pre-CINAHL, CINAHL and CINAHL Plus with full text.
Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of nursing and allied health journals providing reliable health information to nursing and allied health students, professionals, and researchers.