Research Guides: History: Getting Started

Textbooks for LCC History Courses

The Great Water
This book is available as an eBook by clicking the link above. Print copies are located at the library help zone on the 2nd floor the TLC building.
Michigan: A History of the Great Lakes State
The eBook is available by clicking on the title link above. Print copies are located at the library help zone on the 2nd floor the TLC building.
My Bondage and My Freedom by Frederick Douglass
This book is available as an eBook by clicking the link above. Print copies are located at the library help zone on the 2nd floor the TLC building.
To Make Our World Anew by Robin D. G. Kelley (Editor); Earl Lewis (Editor)
This book is available as an eBook by clicking the link above. Print copies are located at the library help zone on the 2nd floor the TLC building.
Four Hundred Souls by Ibram X. Kendi (Editor); Keisha N. Blain (Editor)
This book is available as an eBook by clicking the link above.

LCC Library History Course Reserves and Textbooks
View all of the textbooks that are on reserve for history classes at LCC.

History Research Center This link opens in a new window
This link provides the option to search both the American History Online & Modern World History research databases simultaneously.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Provides objective explanations of the most contentious issues in American and World history. It combines factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing points of view.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains historical documents, reference titles, and full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Filled with primary and secondary sources for U.S history and the world. Includes U.S congressional and presidential documents, state and federal case laws, and U.S treaties. Special sections include: "Slavery in America and the World" and "COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present."

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and world history topics, featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents. Includes documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. Also includes biographies of historical figures.
Original Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 420,000 e-works of classic, primary source, and general reference materials covering history, literature, science, law, politics, and religion.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Access to dictionaries, encyclopedias, timelines and a visual dictionary with one click. Great for learning a little about a paper topic before doing research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference e-books for many disciplines including science, medicine, business, and history.