Ask A Librarian

Lansing Community College Library Services

Education: Children's Literature

Resources for education related research and professional development

E-Books from Public Libraries

If you can't find a work of fiction in LCC's collection, try searching area libraries listed below. If you live outside of the Lansing area, check with your local public library. Many libraries allow you to apply for a library card online and access e-books and e-audiobooks from a computer or mobile device. 

Finding Book Titles and Reviews

Find E-Books with OneSearch

Combine words to find books about a theme. Use quotation marks to search for words as phrases. For example:


 

Research Topics About Children's Literature

Think about the main idea of your topic and select keywords. There are many different terms describing similar ideas and concepts. Some databases have three search boxes. Select one keyword for each search box. Using more keywords will narrow your search results. For example:

  • Children's literature AND gender
  • Children's literature AND censorship 
  • Children's literature AND curriculum AND science

E-Book Collections

Cover art little red riding hood

eBook K-8 Collection

Find e-books for elementary and middle school students. Includes picture books, chapter books, biographies, and reference books.

Book Cover Art

eBook High School Collection

E-books for high school students and educators. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org

eBook Public Library Collection

Large collection of reference books featuring titles for both adults and children. Covers a wide variety of topics from self-help and fitness to cooking and personal finance. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org

Child Development 100

The books listed for the CHDV 100- Foundations of Early Childhood Education children's literature assignment are on reserve at the library. Use the link below to check on the availability of titles from this list.