Research Guides: Biology 125: Introductory Biology: People in Biology

Biography Databases

These suggested databases include biographies of prominent scientists.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Access Science contains a large alphabetical list of scientific biographies. If you need ideas of possible scientists, Access Science is an excellent place to start.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 450,000 biographies. Find a biography of an actor, author, explorer, inventor, musician, U.S. President, current world leader and more. Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
College (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of famous scientists using the Biography box or the Science and Health box.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference e-books for many disciplines including science, medicine, business, and history.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
The Featured People section of this easy to use database includes biographies separated by scientific discipline.

Images
Your article must include at one relevant graphic. Search these LCC Library curated websites and databases for images you can use for free.

Obituaries published in newspapers are a good way to find biographical information.

Search the Catalog for books, e-books, streaming video, government documents, magazines, journals, and newspapers, and course reserves.