Research Guides: Culture Resources: Statistics

United States Statistical Sources

Find Statistics - LCC Library
Recommended starting points for finding statistics about business, crime & corrections, demographics, education, employment & labor, and health.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics on social, political, and economic conditions in the United States. A snapshot of America and its people.

United States Bureau of Economic Anaysis
The BEA collects data related the U.S. economy. It includes data about other countries in relation to their roles and impact on the U.S economy.
United States Census Bureau's International Database
Provides population demographics and trends for countries around the world

DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Access to current U.S. Census data. Includes information on businesses and non-profits. Includes market analysis, custom reports, and maps.

Books of World Facts and Statistics

The Statesman's Yearbook 2022 Now in its 158th edition, The Statesman's Yearbook continues to be the reference work of choice for accurate and reliable information on every country in the world. Covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects, the Yearbook is also available online for subscribing institutions. 
The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2022 A 2021 USA Today Bestseller! Get thousands of facts at your fingertips with this essential resource: business, the arts and pop culture, science and technology, U.S. history and government, world geography, sports, and so much more. The World Almanac® is America's bestselling reference book of all time, with more than 83 million copies sold. For more than 150 years, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for school, library, business, and home. The 2022 edition of The World Almanac reviews the biggest events of 2021 and will be your go-to source for questions on any topic in the upcoming year. Praised as a "treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information" by The Wall Street Journal, The World Almanac and Book of Facts will answer all of your trivia needs effortlessly. Features include: Special Feature: Coronavirus Status Report: A special section provides up-to-the-minute information about the world's largest public health crisis in at least a century. Statistical data and graphics across dozens of chapters show how the pandemic continues to affect the economy, work, family life, education, and culture. Special Feature: 20 Years in Afghanistan: The World Almanac provides history, data, and other context for the end of America's longest war and the future of Afghanistan and its people. 2021--Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac list the top stories that held the world's attention in 2021. 2021--Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring complete coverage of the Olympic Games in Tokyo and the sports world's ongoing adaptations to the coronavirus pandemic, and much more. 2021--Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2021, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports. 2021--Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac editors found some of the strangest news stories of the year. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2021, from news and sports to pop culture. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Memorable Recent Sports Scandals: From a trash-can banging, sign-stealing scandal to the doping of horses and humans, World Almanac editors select some of the sports world's biggest black marks from the last 20 years. The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world. The Biden Administration: Complete coverage of the presidential transition in Washington, DC, including cabinet-level leadership and the filling of other key administration roles. Other New Highlights: First data available from the 2020 Census, congressional appropriation and redistricting, and much more.  
The Europa World Year Book 2018 Globally renowned for its accuracy, consistency and reliability, the Europa World Year Book 2018 is your source for detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory information for over 250 countries and territories. For ninety years since its first publication, the Europa World Year Book has been the premier source of contemporary political and socio-economic analysis for library reference shelves, offering timely information with a global reach.

International Statistics

European Social Survey
A comprehensive, biannual survey of attitudes, beliefs, and behavior patterns across thirty countries.
U.S Department of Commerce
Provides data on importing and exporting in the United States.
UNESCO Data Center
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data related to reaching the Sustainable Development Goals. These include statistics for education, science and technology, culture, and communication.
United Nations Statistical Division
A collection of economic, demographic, social, and gender statistics.
World Bank Data
Find data, indicators, and financial reports about development in every country around the world.