It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources at LCC: Finding OER: Adopt, Adapt, or Create
Learn how to find and use OER materials in teaching and learning.
Provide your students an alternative to expensive textbooks by following these steps:
Check with your department or program to see if there are others who already use OER or to see if others are interested in working with you to find or create an OER..
Research available OER by subject by going to the OER by Discipline page or the OER Collections box or OER Respitories box on this page.
Search for some appropriate textbooks for your course and begin reviewing and evaluating each one.based on the content and whether it suits your learning objectives, teaching style, and your students. See the box that outlines evaluation criteria for some tools to help you evaluate OER.
Decide if you want to use the textbook as is, edit, or modify the contents.
Check to see if LCC has a current or upcoming Award Program that you could apply for.
In the end, you will let your Lead Support person know that you will use OER and where that OER is available. You will distribute the OER to your students by uploading into D2L. You can select the best format to distribute to your class such as online, or downloadable PDF.
In this pre-recorded session as part of the Open Education Global 2021 conference (#OEGlobal21), Monica Brown and Amy Song provide you with a brief overview of methods for finding and evaluating OER. Video is less than 14 minutes long.
This rubric was developed by Center for Open Education. The Open Education Network is based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.
Open Textbook Collections
Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.
OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 114 different sources and contains 440,269 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.