Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content
Research Databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals, as well as e-books, videos, and images.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered. Access Tip: Also available at
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Contains the full-text of nursing and allied health journals providing reliable health information to nursing and allied health students, professionals, and researchers.
A large interdisciplinary research database covering over 160 subject areas. An excellent source for peer-reviewed scholarly resources.
ScienceDirect College Edition
Provides over 2,500 full-text scientific journals in the fields of social & behavioral sciences, physical sciences, and health & psychology.
What is a Scholarly Journal?
Peer Reviewed? Refereed?
Peer review (also called Refereeing) refer to the process an author goes through to get an article submitted into that journal.
Let's say you are an expert in a particular field. You write an article and submit it to a journal. Your article goes through several steps before the journal may or may not decide to publish it.
1. Expert colleagues read and scrutinized your article. Your
peers in the field do this review process. .
2. A panel of expert
peers judge your article and act as referees. They decide whether your article adds to the knowledge within your field.
3. If your article passes this editorial
peer review, the journal publishes your article.
4. All the articles within that journal go through the same process so the journal is
peer reviewed/ refereed.
Google Scholar to find:
peer-reviewed journal articles
other scholarly literature on the "public web"
From off-campus, the link above will set your preferences to let you know if an item is available free from LCC Library.
How to Use Google Scholar
This video was created by Ramez Mikhail, a librarian at Concordia University. When he discusses how to set up links to the library, substitute Lansing Community College for Concordia University.