How to Talk So People Listen: Connecting in Today's Workplace
by
Our super-speed, electronically driven workplace has begun eroding our ability to talk and, what's more, to listen. Yet we must all keep presenting ourselves and our ideas verbally, in person, to make that final sale or get ahead. That means you need new verbal and visual approaches to everything from giving a presentation, handling a client, making an impact at a meeting, or just selling yourself. Sonya Hamlin is one of the country's leading communication experts. She tackles the new issues in the workplace, rewriting her previous best-selling How to Talk So People Listen to provide a host of new techniques for getting what you want at work today. She covers all your workplace communication needs to discover and return to every time you have to present yourself or your ideas. This book is written for everyone, from the entry-level employee to the executive. Hamlin delivers groundbreaking insights and solutions to some of today's major communication issues at work: negotiating the generation gaps, integrating a multicultural workforce, organizing your message and making it visual, and understanding what motivates today's audiences. She provides unique, innovative tools in an informal, practical style. This is an invaluable resource for achieving one's goals through skillful, compelling communication techniques.
Message Not Received
by
Get your message across the right way with clear communication Message Not Received provides the tools and techniques that make an effective writer and public speaker. Particularly on topics related to data and technology, effective communication can present a challenge in business settings. This book shows readers how those challenges can be overcome, and how to keep the message from getting lost in the face of mismatched levels of knowledge, various delivery media, and the library of jargon that too often serves as a substitute for real, meaningful language. Coverage includes idea crystallization, the rapidly changing business environment, Kurzweil's law of accelerating change, and our increasing inability to understand what we are saying to each other. Rich with visuals including diagrams, slides, graphs, charts, and infographics, this guide provides accessible information and actionable guidance toward more effectively conveying the message. Today, few professionals can ignore the tsunami of technology that permeates their lives, advancing far more rapidly that most of us can handle. As a result, too many people think that successful speaking means using buzzwords, jargon, and invented words that sound professional, but don't actually communicate meaning. This book provides a path through the noise, helping readers get their message across succinctly, efficiently, and effectively. Adapt your approach for more effective communication Learn the critical skill of crystallizing ideas Tailor your style to the method of delivery Ensure that your message is heard, understood, and internalized It doesn't matter whether you're pitching to a venture capitalist, explaining daily challenges to a non-tech manager, or speaking to hundreds of people - jargon-filled word salad uses a lot of words to say very little. Better communication requires a different approach, and Message Not Received gives you a roadmap to more effective speaking and writing for any audience or medium.
Business Communication: Building Critical Skills
by
Presentation Skills for Students
by
This is the essential guide to the most transferable of all student skills: delivering a presentation clearly, coherently and confidently. Written in a friendly and accessible style, it takes the fear out of public speaking and helps students to acquire the skills they need to deliver effective presentations at university and in their future careers. Revised and updated throughout, it provides readers with practical guidance on controlling their nerves, creating visual aids and structuring presentations. This is an invaluable resource for students of all disciplines in further or higher education who have to give presentations as part of their course. It is also ideal for recent graduates looking to hone their presentation skills as they enter the job market. New to this Edition: - Fully updated to reflect the latest developments in technology, with new material on making the most of the latest software, platforms and networking tools - Gives students even more support with additional exercises and checklists
How to Make Your Point Without PowerPoint
by
The art of presenting needs a serious shakeup. Presenters are constantly on the lookout for fresh ideas to get their message across, but mistakenly believe PowerPoint is the right medium to do so. In How to Make Your Point Without PowerPoint, renowned public speaker Douglas Kruger aims to end the tedium of the PowerPoint medium. He offers 50 practical suggestions to enhance your presentation skills - including the kinds of formats you can use, different methods of delivery and some alternative visuals - so you and your team can trade in the slides and get brainstorming. This book proves that it is possible to do an excellent job, even a superior one, without slides, by learning to truly engage and persuade. In this way, you will stand out every time and, as the presenter, have an entertaining time of it!
Better Business Speech: Techniques, Tricks, and Shortcuts for Public Speaking at Work
by
In a business world where we are told that time is money, the real currency is communicating clearly at a poised and measured pace. Better Business Speech: Techniques, Tricks, and Shortcuts for Public Speaking at Work by Paul Geiger focuses on the challenges of being a strong communicator in a range of business settings. It begins with the basic premise that all speaking for business is public speaking. Therefore, these are the communication scenarios where any lack of confidence in speech ability will be magnified. The obstacles that stand in the way of successful meetings, presentations, networking events, job interviews, and sales calls are all clearly described. Seasoned speech coach Paul Geiger offers tricks, techniques, and shortcuts that all seem shockingly simple; but it is the retraining of the mind and body that is the hard part. He details practical daily exercises that lead to better speech habits and addresses the causes of ineffective speech pattern in both personal and business settings. The physical and mental aspects of speech are explored in the context of forming a strong speech technique foundation that never loses sight of the importance of always sounding authentic. By offering action steps and helpful online tutorials, Geiger provides readers with the tools necessary to make lasting changes that will enhance speaking skills in all facets of business life.
Public Speaking and Presentations Demystified
by
Take the mystery out of effective, fear-free public speaking This latest book in the Demystified series takes theconfusion out of preparing for and delivering speechesand presentations. Public Speaking and PresentationsDemystified walks you step-by-step through the fundamentalsof the subject and provides you withtechniques for effective speaking, avoiding commonerrors, and overcoming stage fright. With these skills,you will feel confident in business and social situationswhen you find yourself in the spotlight.
Difficult Conversations Don't Have to Be Difficult
by
NATIONAL BESTSELLER Help your team maximize their full potential by mastering tough conversations In Difficult Conversations Don't Have to be Difficult: A Simple, Smart Way to Make Your Relationships and Team Better, bestselling author Jon Gordon and veteran human resources professional and executive coach Amy P. Kelly deliver an engaging and inspiring new take on how to make tough workplace conversations an asset in building a stronger team and organization. The book, written as a business fable, follows Ruth, the CEO of a successful multinational company who has been instructed by her board to prepare her company for sale. Along the way, she must lead an underperforming and dysfunctional team to set aside their differences and work together toward a common goal. This includes growing herself while elevating her team's performance. As Ruth discovers the secret to unlocking extraordinary growth and productivity, you'll learn about: The critically important conversations you need to have with your team to realize outstanding results Structuring, planning, and having the tough conversations your team members really need Ensuring your team walks away from difficult conversations more united, motivated, inspired, and positioned for optimal growth and performance Perfect for managers, executives, directors, and business leaders and their teams, Difficult Conversations Don't Have to be Difficult is also a must-read for coaches, trainers, teachers, consultants, and other professionals doing their best to help others realize their full potential. Teams who read the book together will be equipped with a proven strategy and process to enhance communication performance and unity.
What Isn't Being Said: Culture and Communication at Work
by
This book examines how exactly effective intercultural communication at work takes place. In order to do so, the authors take a deep dive into understanding the communication process and variation in communication patterns across cultures and individuals. They introduce a model that focuses on four sources of nonverbal communication, discuss existing research on intercultural communication in the workplace, and offer propositions for future research on the indirect, implicit, and nonverbal cues that can stymie cross-cultural communication effectiveness at work.
Your Voice Is Your Business
by
Your Voice is Your Business combines the latest in voice research and technology with the most powerful and state-of-the-art presentation skills and methods. The result is an integrated and comprehensive approach to connecting the technically-based aspects of voice production with an applied, skill-based grasp of interpersonal effectiveness. The book will serve as both a practical handbook and a fully realized resource on human vocal production in real world settings. Relevant techniques of positioning, gesture, and paraverbals (non-verbals) are incorporated in the study of successful voice presentation. An accompanying DVD illustrates the concepts and corrective measures in an incisive and powerful way. Readers will find references to relevant scenes in the DVD throughout the text. The DVD allows readers to review and practice elements being discussed.
How to Listen and How to Be Heard: Inclusive Conversations at Work
by
Named a Best Nonfiction Book of 2020 by Cosmopolitan! For anyone who has ever felt their voice isn't heard at work. This is a guide on how to empower yourself and others to communicate with people who think, act, and experience things differently than you do, and do so with more confidence, candor, and authenticity. Too often, people avoid difficult conversations; but these discussions often need to happen to bring people together so we can all succeed. There's no denying that our workplaces are more diverse than ever. Age, race, gender--there are so many different perspectives and experiences being brought to the table. And the best employees and leaders know that harnessing the power of these differences will build stronger teams, ideas, and organizations. But how do we do this? If we all think, feel, and act so differently, how do we get anything done? The first step is recognizing that these differences exist. And that they're here to stay. We need to respect and embrace our varied viewpoints, and then we can start to communicate across (not against) them. How to Listen and How to be Heard shows you how to bridge the conversation gap and use your unique voice to start powerful conversations. This book is about learning how to communicate with, through, and alongside what makes us different. It's about open dialogue and practical tools that get everyone on the same page--or at least in the same room. It's not about quick fixes or the absence of conflict; it's about working toward authentic communication in the workplace--for managers, employees, and colleagues from all fields. It's about remembering that we're all here to work together.
Networking for People Who Hate Networking, Second Edition
by
Would you rather get a root canal than face a group of strangers? Does the phrase "working a room" make you want to retreat to yours? Devora Zack, an avowed introvert and successful consultant who gives presentations to thousands of people at dozens of events annually, feels your pain. She found that other networking books assume that to succeed, you have to act like an extrovert. Not at all. There is another way. Zack politely examines and then smashes to tiny fragments the "dusty old rules" of standard networking advice. She shows how the very traits that make many people hate networking can be harnessed to forge an approach more effective and user-friendly than traditional techniques. This edition adds new material on applying networking principles in personal situations, handling interview questions, following up--what do you do with all those business cards?--and more. Networking enables you to accomplish the goals that are most important to you. But you can't adopt a style that goes against who you are--and you don't have to. As Zack writes, "You do not succeed by denying your natural temperament; you succeed by working with your strengths."
What Color Is Your Parachute? Guide to Rethinking Interviews
by
The first interview book from theWhat Color Is Your Parachute?career guru Richard Bolles. Interviews instill fear in many a job-hunter, but this empowering guide from legendary career expert Richard N. Bolles reveals that interviews are really just conversations to determine if the work-and workplace-is a great fit for both parties. For the first time, Bolles combines his decades of experience with the latest studies and job-market research to create an all-in-one guide for the whole interview process, from pre-interview research to elevator pitches, "tell me about yourself" questions, and salary negotiation. This slender handbook provides just the essentials- the three most important things you need to know about interviews, the five questions you must have answers for, and an ingenious summary of how to succeed. With this guide in hand, you'll walk into interviews with confidence, armed with the means to impress-and hopefully land your dream job.
101 Successful Interviewing Strategies
by
Now job seekers or any professional pursuing advancement can masterthe skills needed to prepare for and win interviews with Kramer�s 101 SUCCESSFUL INTERVIEWING STRATEGIES. Written by an expert career coach and clinical psychologist, this unique book applies the latest research in learning strategies and social intelligence to equip job candidates for interviewing success. This book walks readers through the most important parts of preparing for and effectively managing an interview, including attitude, tactics, and follow-up actions. From basic tips, such as testing the route to the interview to ensure timely arrival, to more advanced insights such as how to guide the interview into a conversation rather than an interrogation, job candidates will find invaluable insights that can make the difference in interviewing or job-promotion success. This book�s specialized knowledge and scientifically proven strategies equip job seekers at any level with the skills to approach interviews with confidence, impress the interviewer, and win the job.
Get That Job! The Quick & Complete Guide to a Winning Interview
by
Praised as "Excellent" on Forbes.com, this concise interview guide gives readers proven tips and clear instructions to prepare for breakthrough interviews. You will learn to: Identify and communicate your unique strengths, your "REV Points."Understand why employers ask many of the most common interview questions - and how to answer with confidence.Succeed with video interviews, behavioral interviews and panels.Build an arsenal of success stories.Ace every step - from the first screening to accepting the offer. What's NEW in the 2nd Edition: Video Interviewing: This section is now much more in-depth, covering everything from connectivity to robot interviewers.Contract Roles: We've added a NEW chapter on "Interviewing for a Contract Role."More Interview Questions: The NEW edition explores many more interview questions, covering crucial topics including diversity, working with remote teams and more.Updates throughout: Many other chapters have been enhanced, while keeping the book concise - a quick read for busy job seekers. Enjoy the second edition - and get that job!
How to Ace an Interview
by
How to Ace Your Job Interview and Get Hired Have you been getting a lot of job interviews but have been unable to close the deal? Then you need to read How to Ace an Interview - Job Interview Preparation, Interview Questions, and Answers You Need to Stand Out and Get Hired! Author Robert Moment, the Get Hired Expert and Interview Coach helping ambitious professionals stand out in job interviews, get hired and make more money has prepared the ultimate job interview guide for you. You'll be able to walk into your next job interview confident that you'll be interviewing better than 99% of other job candidates. Inside How to Ace An Interview you'll discover: How to Prepare for a Job Interview, Ideas, Tips, & Strategies Sоft Skills Yоu Must Havе to Stand Оut and Impress Hiring Managers Tips and Strategies for Acing a Job Interview 100 Interview Questions and Answers You Need to Ace to Get Hired How to Turn an Interview into a Job Offer How to Create a 30-60-90 Day Employment Action Plan That Will Impress Any Hiring Manager Tips and Strategies оn Hоw tо Successfully Clоsе an Interview and Follow-Up & Much More! With the help of How to Ace An Interview you'll be better prepared for how to ace your next with any hiring manager or interview in this highly competitive job market. Learn how to stand out in your job interviews and become the irresistible hire. No one enjoys the pressure of job interviews, but with the amazing job interview tips and strategies inside you're going to ace your next job interview! Stand out and Get Hired!
Next-Day Job Interview
by
In this busy world, people don't always have the time to prepare for job interviews far in advance. For those who wait until the last minute and need to get up to speed fast, there is Next-Day Job Interview. This book distills JIST's revolutionary and proven interview advice into seven quick chapters covering self-assessment, company research, key questions, a system for answering any question that might come up, unusual situations, following up after the interview, salary negotiation, and more. New for this edition are the 'Are You Ready for an Interview?' assessment, an evolution of the 'JIST Card' format, and substantial updates and additions throughout.
Ultimate Interview: 100s of Great Interview Answers
by
In today's ultra competitive job market, only the best prepared candidates have a chance of standing up to the competition and progressing through the various stages of the interview process. From the best-selling Ultimate series, Ultimate Interview will give you all the background information that you need as well as essential practice to successfully navigate the interview rounds and secure that job offer. Uniquely among interview guidebooks, it organises common interview questions according to specific job types, such as management, sales and marketing, administrative and clerical. Each section looks at the thinking behind the questions, and suggests an effective method of answering by utilising your experience and skill set, and demonstrating your ambitions. This new edition also focuses on how to transfer the crucial softer skills associated with successful interviews such as how to convey your alignment to your future employer's values or demonstrate that you are the most willing rather than just capable candidate. With additional advice on researching the background to a vacancy, and how skills and characteristics can be assessed and developed, this book is a must-have for all serious job hunters.
The Medical Interview Coach
by
This short practical text uses a coaching approach to develop the reader's interview skills. With increasing competition, doctors and healthcare professionals need to prepare well for success at interview. The author has successfully coached colleagues in the run-up to interviews using this approach. Readers will learn how to structure responses to reflect their personality, knowledge and experience. This approach encourages candidates to craft their responses in a compelling narrative that will help them stand out. Healthcare organisations are increasingly looking at assessment of values and behaviours as part of the recruitment process. This represents a shift from a more clinical competency-based approach and requires additional preparation for interview. This book will help coach clinicians to describe their own experience in this context. The author is a practicing clinician, coach and led development of a clinical leadership and quality improvement training program for doctors and dentists and training in the UK. This book is aimed at doctors and healthcare professionals in training positions and those moving to a new role.
What Is Your Interview Identity
by
Helping career professionals to be successful in a job interview. How an interviewer views an applicant, due to their ability to communicate competencies confidently, affects the job interview outcome. Each applicant conforms to one of 16 interview identities based on the candidate's perceived level of knowledge/experience and their level of interview confidence. The interview identity acts as a filter that an employer uses before making a hiring decision. The interview identity book will help readers to be seen as more skilled, more knowledgeable and more hireable. TAKE - the interview prediction grid test CHOOSE - one of sixteen interview identities LEARN - how an employer views you based on your interview identity UNDERSTAND - the three rules for a successful interview outcome IMPROVE - your ability to create high-scoring answers INCREASE - confidence in the job interview RESULT - in an increase of job offers Readers will improve their job interview performance by learning about: - Unconscious bias - The structured job interview process - The hiring managers' decision-making process This book is for anyone who consistently fails to win job offers during the job interview.
Ask the Right Questions; Get the Right Job
by
Too often people go to interviews prepared only to answer questions. They study the tough questions for days hoping to give the right responses on D-Day. These same people treat the interview as a cross examination; they see themselves on trial, under the spotlight, deer in the headlights. People who are being interviewed need another attitude, an attitude that says, "I'm here to interview you, to see if I want to bring my talents and experiences to your organization." Most people don't know how to do this. However, if armed with a few questions, they can even the playing field and engage in a useful conversation with their hosts. This book provides a set of questions that are appropriate for any job candidate to ask and allows candidates to participate in a dialogue, a conversation. Experience suggests that only a handful of questions are necessary in most interviews. Review all of the questions. Choose the ones that you believe provide you with the information you need. Learn to interview the interviewer!
Great Answers to Tough Interview Questions
by
Great Answers to Tough Interview Questions is the essential companion for all job-seekers. Having sold over 5 million copies, this book includes over 200 interview questions with expert tips on how to answer them. One of the bestselling job-hunting books of all time, Great Answers to Tough Interview Questions takes you through the whole process; from composing your CV and preparing for interviews to interview techniques, answering tough questions and even negotiating your new salary. Crammed full of the difficult questions that interviewers might throw at you, Martin John Yate gives you expert tips and suggested answers to tackle the tricky ones including:Why should I give you the job? What is your biggest weakness? What are your salary expectations? How long would you stay with the company? What is your greatest strength? Why do you want to work here? Great Answers to Tough Interview Questions will help anyone at any stage of their career. It is your indispensable guide to blowing away the competition and landing your dream job.
Don't Wear Flip-Flops to Your Interview
by
When it comes to getting a job, the smallest thing can trip you up. For 30 years, Dr. Paul Powers has asked thousands of successful job hunters a few basic but important questions: What do you wish someone had told you when you started your job search? What (obvious or not-so-obvious) job hunting mistake will you never make again? What job hunting tip, secret, or technique would you stress to your very best friend? Don't Wear Flip-Flops to Your Interview is packed with strategies and techniques that are practical, market proven, easy to use, and often humorous. Added to this powerful mix are the hard-won lessons from the personal experiences of thousands of professionals who have succeeded in the job-changing game. Don't Wear Flip-Flops to Your Interview takes you through every crucial step in your job search, from getting interviews and answering those really tricky questions to negotiating the best deal possible.
Resumes That Stand Out! Tips for College Students and Recent Grads for Writing a Superior Resume and Securing an Interview
by
Let's face it. The world is changing. As a college student or recent graduate, having a superior resume is a MUST in this competitive environment and the first step toward standing out. -What information is essential to include in a resume? -How do you incorporate "buzz" words to grab the reader's attention? -What should you do if you don't have enough work experience? -What are some quick, easy strategies to make your resume stand out from others? -What is a cover letter? -How do you get recruiters to notice you at a career fair? All these questions and more are answered in this book. A multitude of real-world examples, effective visuals, and samples of winning resumes simplify the resume writing process. You will also learn how to write a cover letter and master a career fair to maximize your potential and get closer to landing the job of your dreams!
Packaging Yourself: The Targeted Resume
by
Does your resume correspond to your LinkedIn profile? Have you simply recounted your work history in your resume, or have you "packaged" yourself to be seen the way you want to be seen? PACKAGING YOURSELF is the only book on the market that uses case studies to teach you the nuances of resume preparation, as well as how to combine it with your LinkedIn profile. The average resume is looked at for only ten seconds. Make yours stand out. Learn how to highlight your strengths and hide your weaknesses. Prepare a marketing piece that dynamically presents you just the way you want prospective employers to see you. Learn how to present yourself effectively on LinkedIn and other media. You'll learn to create an exciting resume that will, make the reader want to call you in for a meeting, and will guide the interviewing process and bring out the best points about yourself, develop the accomplishment statements that form the backbone of your resume, and write a summary that increases your chance of getting just the job you want.
Modernize Your Resume - 3rd Edition
by
Based on today's real-world job search trends, MODERNIZE YOUR RESUME shows you how to craft a winning resume to meet the complexities of today's highly competitive and technologically driven employment market. The 3rd edition has been updated with new resume samples and designs along with companion LinkedIn profiles and writing guidelines, special chapters for challenging circumstances (career change, consulting/freelance, military transition, return to work), and updated e-resume recommendations. In this book, you'll learn to: Write tight, lean, clean, and laser-focused CONTENT that allows you to tell your whole career story in half the words to keep your reader engaged. Focus on information that is relevant to your target market and integrate keywords that are vital to being found online. Present important information quickly in a resume FORMAT that prominently displays your skills, experience, education, and other credentials as they support your current career objectives. Create a distinctive DESIGN to make your resume stand out and capture attention. Getting noticed is step #1, so make that happen and you're on your way. The 100+ resume samples demonstrate these strategies in action for real-life job seekers who've excelled in their search campaigns. The samples showcase the work of professional resume writers well respected for their expertise in resume strategy, writing, format, and design. Clear guidelines and easy-to-follow examples give you practical know-how for building your own powerful resume that will serve all of your job search needs. You'll learn what works, why it works, and how you can make it work for you. Authors and Master Resume Writers Wendy Enelow and Louise Kursmark have each spent more than 30 years writing resumes, training professional resume writers, speaking to job search audiences, and writing about evolving trends in job search. The latest in their library of more than 30 books is the 3rd edition of MODERNIZE YOUR RESUME, an up-to-the minute resource to guide you to career success. Follow the recommendations of this book and you'll find yourself a more competent and competitive job seeker.
Resume and LinkedIn Strategies for New College Graduates
by
Jan Melnik and Louise Kursmark are recognized leaders in the field of career management. Both are Master Resume Writers and have worked with new-graduate job seekers for more than two decades. Together and separately they have authored dozens of books and delivered countless presentations related to resumes and job search. In addition, Melnik is a faculty member at University of South Florida and Bay Path University, teaching English and business communications. Kursmark is a regular presenter and trainer to college and university career centers nationwide. Friends since high school, the two have collaborated on numerous writing and training projects as they have pursued parallel careers.
Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters
by
Cover letters that get noticed, get read, and get the interview! In the newest edition of his classic cover letter guide, job search expert Martin Yate shows you how to dramatically increase your chance of landing an interview. The key, as Yate explains, is to use language drawn from the job posting itself, words that will send your application to the top of database searches. In this completely updated guide, you'll find numerous sample cover letters, along with Yate's tried and proven methods to: Determine relevant keywords to get attention--and use them effectively Clearly display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to the job Find the right contact information that gets your material in front of decision-making managers and recruiters Use social media sites such as LinkedIn to create an effective online profile and build professional and personal networks With Martin Yate's expert advice, you'll create unique and compelling cover letters that will grab employers' attention and get you in the door!
Step-by-Step Cover Letters
by
Finally, a companion to the groundbreaking Step-by-Step Resumes workbook! Step-by-Step Cover Letters uses a foolproof system of paragraph starters and an overall framework to help readers easily build outstanding cover letters that will get interviews and job offers. Professional resume writer and personal branding strategist Evelyn Salvador leads you through the steps of writing a compelling first paragraph, showing the value you bring, developing and communicating your brand in your letter, summarizing your key accomplishments, editing your letter, and compelling the employer to pick up the phone and call you for an interview. The included CD-ROM is chock-full of cover letter samples and templates, as well as letter-building worksheets and other tools.
The Veteran's WORK Book
by
Kevin "Dauber" Lacz is a former Navy SEAL sniper, breacher, combat medic and co-author of The Veteran's WORK Book. When Lacz read The WORK Book, by Bill Hobbs, he immediately realized the need for a version for veterans transitioning out of the military and into a new civilian career. Lacz shared, "Veterans with military experience can be valuable assets in the business world. In addition to job skills, they have experience leading, being led, and performing under pressure. However, it's necessary for veterans to learn how to function in their new environment." This book is unlike any other book on the market. -Show readers how to plan for and transition to the right career -Teaches readers how to create a strong personal brand -Offers keen insights on creating an effective resume, preparing for interviews, and negotiating with companies -Facilitates immediate process application through worksheets that accompany text -Can be read in less than two hours and applied immediately
Power Verbs for Job Seekers: Hundreds of Verbs and Phrases to Bring Your Resumes, Cover Letters, and Job Interviews to Life
by
Electrify all your job search communications and build the great career you want! The right verbs * make you unforgettable * powerfully demonstrate your value * attract employers like moths to flame Grab the right verb and use it the right way to: Craft outstanding r#65533;sum#65533;s, cover letters, and thank-you notes Draw attention to your best achievements and accomplishments Get your face-to-face interview--and ace it Pitch yourself brilliantly, even if you only have a minute Weave crucial "soft skills" expertise into your career communications Prove you're the person they're looking for Jam-packed with examples drawing on thousands of years of storytelling, literature, and experience Indispensable for everyone who wants a rewarding, successful, well-paid career!
Expert Resumes for Health Care (Second Edition)
by
This collection of resumes is aimed at people seking health care jobs at all levels, from allied health technicians to physicians. Health care is one of the very few fields that is still growing these troubled economic times. In addition to hundreds of pages of sample resumes, the authors present sound resume writing advice, including how to create and use an electronic resume and whether to use a resume or a CV. The appendix includes Internet resources for an effective online job search. New for this edition are a chapter on writing cover letters plus cover letters samples, as well as updates to all resumes throughout.
The Graphic Designer's Guide to Portfolio Design
by
Landing a job in graphic design or multimedia starts with the creation of a portfolio that showcases a student's best work. With sample portfolios, interviews with leaders in graphic design and advertising industries, and step-by-step instruction for creating professional print and digital portfolios, this book helps students successfully transition from design student to design professional. Now fully updated, it is the only guide to creating job-winning print-based and digital portfolios specifically for graphic designers.
CVs, Resumes, Cover Letters and Linkedin: A Guide to Professional English
by
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Are you simply looking for a new job in the private or public sector, in research or industry? If your aim is to produce a professional CV or resume, then this book is for you. Based on interviews with recruiters and HR managers, and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries, the book is structured as a series of FAQs. Topics covered include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV whether using a template is a good idea the difference between a CV and a resume how to present your personal details and whether to include a photo how to write an Executive Summary what to write in each section (Education, Work Experience, Skills, Personal Interests) how to write dates how to highlight your language, communication and team skills how to get and write references You will also learn some hints and strategies for writing a: cover letter LinkedIn profile reference letter bio The last chapter of the book contains a simple template to help you get the job of your dreams!
A New Kind of Diversity
by
In A New Kind of Diversity, bestselling author Tim Elmore brings his decades of research and leadership experience to bear on what might be the biggest, most dramatic, and most disruptive shift the American workforce has ever seen: the vast diversity of several generations living--and working--together. The past few years have brought an endless cascade of social media movements that left many of us . . . well . . . scratching our heads. Regardless of how we feel about the gaps between us, there is one we cannot avoid. One of the largest gaps remains an "elephant in the room." We know it's there but we don't know how to talk about it. It's the different generations that find themselves working together. It's a generation gap. There is a new kind of diversity that only eight percent of U.S. companies even recognize: diverse generations on teams. Long laughed off as a cliché and more recently mocked in memes #HowToConfuseMillennials and #OKBoomer hashtags, the generational gap has become an undeniable tension in the global workplace. Sadly, it has fostered: Loneliness in our workplaces. Poor communication on our teams. Reduction in revenue and team morale. Conflicting values and priorities in the office. Divisions that lead to "walls" instead of "bridges." For the first time in history, up to five generations find themselves working alongside each other in a typical company. The result? There can be division. Interactions between people from different generations can resemble a cross-cultural relationship. Both usually possess different values and customs. At times, each generation is literally speaking a different language! How can we hope to work together when we can't even understand each other? This book provides the tools to: Get the most out of the strengths of each age group on your team. Foster effective communication instead of isolation among people. Build bridges rather than walls so that loneliness becomes connectedness. Connect people to learn how both veterans and rookies can mentor each other.
How to Be a Diversity and Inclusion Ambassador: Everyone's Role in Helping All Feel Accepted, Engaged, and Valued
by
Using a proven three-part framework, this book shows how anyone-from a CEO to frontline employee-can play a pivotal role in creating a diverse and welcoming workplace. Creating a diverse workplace needs to be an ongoing effort, not just the subject of occasional training. As Celeste Warren says, needed change won't take place unless all employees feel that they have a role to play in creating the culture they would like to see in their organization. Regardless of what position you hold, you have the ability to impact change and create a more inclusive environment. Anyone can commit to becoming an unofficial Diversity and Inclusion Ambassador in his or her organization. Warren offers a straightforward three-stage model- . Become aware of your strengths, weaknesses, and conscious and unconscious biases. . Take an inventory of your surroundings- what is getting in the way of there being an inclusive environment in your organization? . Develop a personal action plan. Depending on your position, the actions you take can be as simple as consistently raising DEI-related issues in staff meetings or as far-reaching as leading an Employee Resource Group or developing a new hiring policy. In separate chapters, Warren offers specific advice for chief diversity and inclusion officers, C-suite leaders, first-line managers, human resources practitioners, and individual contributors. This book features examples, exercises, and practical tools that show you how to assess where your organization is at and develop a purpose and strategy that can make diversity a workplace reality.
Generations: The Real Differences Between Gen Z, Millenials, Gen X, Boomers, and Silents and What They Mean for America's Future
by
A groundbreaking, "lavishly informative" (The New York Times) portrait of the six generations that currently live in the United States and how they connect, conflict, and compete with one another--from the acclaimed author of Generation Me and iGen. Upending the conventional theory that generational differences are caused by major events, Dr. Jean Twenge analyzes data on 39 million people from robust national surveys--some going back nearly a century--to show that changes in technology are the underlying driver of each generation's unique makeup. In this revelatory work, Twenge outlines key shifts in attitudes and lifestyle choices that define each generation regarding gender, income, politics, race, sexuality, marriage, mental health, and much more. Surprising, engaging, and informative, Generations "gets you thinking about how appreciating generational differences can, ironically, bring us together" (Angela Duckworth, New York Times bestselling author). It will forever change the way you view your parents, peers, coworkers, and children, no matter which generation you call your own.
Job Search Handbook for People with Disabilities
by
This complete career planning and job search guide for people with physical and mental disabilities has been completely updated to reflect the newest job search technologies and techniques. It will help readers identify their strengths; explore career options; find job openings; explore the hidden job market; write resumes, cover letters, and follow-up letters; and perform well in interviews. The author shows readers how to tell potential employers about their disabilities and ask them for reasonable accommodations, and helps readers understand and navigate employment law as it applies to them.
Gen Z @ Work: How the Next Generation is Transforming the Workplace
by
A generations expert and author of When Generations Collide and The M-Factor teams up with his seventeen-year-old son to introduce the next influential demographic group to join the workforce--Generation Z--in this essential study, the first on the subject. They were born between between 1995 and 2012. At 72.8 million strong, Gen Z is about to make its presence known in the workplace in a major way--and employers need to understand the differences that set them apart. They're radically different than the Millennials, and yet no one seems to be talking about them--until now. This generation has an entirely unique perspective on careers and how to succeed in the workforce. Based on the first national studies of Gen Z's workplace attitudes; interviews with hundreds of CEOs, celebrities, and thought leaders on generational issues; cutting-edge case studies; and insights from Gen Zers themselves, Gen Z @ Work offers the knowledge today's leaders need to get ahead of the next gaps in the workplace and how best to recruit, retain, motivate, and manage Gen Zers. Ahead of the curve, Gen Z @ Work is the first comprehensive, serious look at what the next generation of workers looks like, and what that means for the rest of us.
Amplifying Indigenous Voices in Business: Indigenization, Reconciliation, and Entrepreneurship
by
Indigenization is more than reconciliation: It is a better business practice!Some of the common questions businesses, educational institutions, and communities ask are: "Do we need an Indigenization strategy? If so, why; what is it really?; and, how do we do it?"Amplifying Indigenous Voices in Business is for organizations and allies who would like to make a positive difference by learning how to amplify Indigenous voices, Indigenize businesses, and support Indigenous entrepreneurship, all in the bigger spirit of reconciliation. Author Priscilla Omulo addresses Canada's complicated history with Indigenous peoples and how that contributes to today's challenges in the business realm. While the challenge is real, so is the opportunity, and Omulo's step-by-step guide explains how any organization can make immediate plans to improve the way they do business by doing the research, consulting the right people, and formulating a strategy to move forward. Omulo shows readers how a commitment to doing the right thing will lead to a more sustainable and inclusive place for all, and a stronger foundation for businesses and other organizations.
How to Heal a Workplace: Tackle Trauma, Foster Psychological Safety and Boost Happiness at Work
by
Boost wellbeing and build a robust, productive culture in your workplace Your workplace's most powerful resource is its people. That's why it's critical to balance the needs of your business with the needs of the employees who make that business happen every day. At the heart of the matter is your workplace culture: the environments and relationships that shape your business, whether physical or virtual. How to Heal a Workplace shares the insights and hands-on advice that you need to better understand how your culture impacts your team. You'll learn how to manage interpersonal challenges--and anticipate the impact of policies and procedures--to create a healthier, happier and more productive environment. Drawing on real-world stories from diverse industries, in-demand workplace mental health consultant Kerry Howard shares strategies that will help you: Boost employee wellbeing, and attract and retain staff by supporting their mental health Understand how trauma is caused by everyday events and how this impacts the workplace Combat bullying and harassment and prevent workplace injuries Foster psychological safety, improve communication, and build better relationships between colleagues In How to Heal a Workplace, you'll find the practical advice you need to create a better culture, improve productivity and increase satisfaction across every area of your business.
Transgender in the Workplace: The Complete Guide to the New Authenticity for Employers and Gender-Diverse Professionals
by
Offering a fresh and practical perspective for employers and gender-diverse professionals, this book presents useful tools, information, and resources to help organizations and individuals to understand and leverage the power of gender authenticity as a pathway to business success. The unemployment rate for gender-diverse individuals is disproportionately high. This book will help employers to better understand why this blatant discrepancy exists. It also provides useful solutions and potential remedies for the problem in the form of gender authenticity, an exciting and powerful concept that is taking the global business community in innovative directions. The breakthrough paradigm of gender authenticity is helping many organizations to become more inclusive while simultaneously gaining a significant competitive advantage. The author, a leading diversity consultant, introduces five fundamentals for creating gender-authentic workplaces. Human resource and diversity professionals will not find a more useful source than this book to help people and organizations to deal effectively with the issue of gender diversity on the job, and gender-diverse employees will learn new strategies for advancing their careers while achieving and maintaining gender authenticity.
Inclusion Revolution: The Essential Guide to Dismantling Racial Inequity in the Workplace
by
Tackle racial bias and discrimination at your company and create a representative and diverse leadership team In Inclusion Revolution: The Essential Guide to Dismantling Racial Inequity in the Workplace, workplace strategist and C-suite executive Daisy Auger-Domínguez delivers a timely, inspirational, and practical exploration of why mainstream efforts at diversity improvement tend to fail and what you can do today to successfully create a diverse and representative leadership team at your company. In the book, the author explains her four-step process of reflection, visualization, action, and persistence, and walks you through how to use research-based strategies to promote diversity. This hands-on toolkit for leaders and people professionals will show you how to: Achieve the benefits--including higher revenues and more satisfied employees--enjoyed by high-performing, diverse companies Fruitfully address the complex and fraught issues of race, power, and exclusion at your firm Transform the seemingly intractable problems of racial bias and discrimination into realistically solvable issues you can begin to address immediately Perfect for managers, directors, executives, entrepreneurs, founders, and other business leaders, Inclusion Revolution is also a must-read for people officers and human resources professionals at companies of any size and in any industry.
How to Be an Ally: Actions You Can Take for a Stronger, Happier Workplace
by
Through the power of allyship, each of us can create an equitable, innovative workplace where everyone feels safe, valued, and able to thrive How can you help someone else thrive? How can you interrupt the biases, microaggressions, and inequities that prevent people around you from excelling? How can you build an innovative workplace fueled by equity, diversity and belonging? Every business leader today should be asking themselves these questions. Systems and processes have been skewed too long in favor of some at the expense of others, and things are changing--fast. How to Be an Ally shows how to take personal responsibility for driving change that's good for people--and for business. You'll learn the ins and outs of allyship and build the knowledge and skills you need to: Listen and learn new perspectives Identify your own biases Avoid unintentionally harming people with microaggressions Express empathy with courage Advocate for people in small, everyday ways Rethink your work to be more inclusive, equitable, and accessible Build team norms that cultivate allyship Create equitable, inclusive systems and processes Uniquely insightful and extremely timely, How to Be an Ally humanizes diversity and inclusion and facilitates greater empathy and understanding between people of all identities. It teaches us that every individual can learn about the imbalance in opportunity and work to correct it. The key to true diversity, equity, and inclusion is allyship. This one-of-a-kind guide provides everything you need to use allyship to create a better workplace for ourselves and our colleagues.
Inclusive Conversations
by
"What is impressive is not only how Winters builds a case for the urgency and need for bold, inclusive conversations but that she also gives specific strategies and competencies to turn her theory into practice. -Dr. Sheila Robinson, publisher and CEO, Diversity Woman Media Effective dialogue across different dimensions of diversity, such as race, gender, age, religion, or sexual orientation, fosters a sense of belonging and inclusion, which in turn leads to greater productivity, performance, and innovation. Whether in the workplace, faith communities, or educational settings, our differences can tear us apart rather than bring us together if we do not know how to communicate. Recognizing our collective responsibility to earnestly address our differences and increase understanding and empathy will not only enhance organizational goals but will also lead to a healthier, kinder, and more compassionate world. Award-winning diversity, equity, and inclusion consultant Mary-Frances Winters has been leading workshops on what she calls Bold, Inclusive Conversations for years. In this book she offers specific dialogue strategies to foster greater understanding on the following topics: Recognizing the importance of creating equity and sharing power Dealing with the "fragility" of dominant groups--their discomfort in engaging with historically subordinated groups Addressing the exhaustion historically marginalized groups feel from constantly explaining their different lived experience Exploring how to build trust and create psychologically safe spaces for dialogue This guide is comprehensive for anyone who wants to break down the barriers that separate us and facilitate discussions on potentially polarizing topics.
How to Work with and Lead People Not Like You
by
If you're in a diverse team, you know employee differences can cause miscommunication, lower trust, and hurt productivity. . . It doesn't have to be this way! The people you work with may be from a different generation, different culture, different race, different gender, or just a different philosophy toward work and life in general, but you need to work together toward a common goal. How to Work With and Lead People Not Like You explains how to dial down the differences, smooth out the friction, and play upon each other's strengths to become more effective, more productive, and less stressed. The keys are to find the common ground and identify hidden conflicts that are hurting productivity. Many people shudder at the prospect of working with diverse groups of people, but they can't voice their fear or anxiety. At work, it's not OK or politically correct to say, 'I'm uncomfortable with this person.' In fact, if you do say something along those lines, your job may be at risk. Your company may terminate you for not being on the 'diversity bandwagon.' So you keep quiet and you keep your thoughts to yourself. But deep down, you are uncomfortable. If you feel like this, it doesn't mean you're racist, sexist, ageist, homophobic, or any other negative label. It means you're struggling. You're struggling to understand people, cultures, or values that are unfamiliar to you. You're struggling to do your job with teammates and coworkers who may have very different viewpoints or different approaches to communication than you have. You're struggling to overcome differences and pull together to achieve high performance at work. Whether you're leading a diverse team, working in a challenging cross-cultural environment, or simply working with people who are 'not like you,' you need to be able to get along with everyone as a team, to get the work done. This book explains the skills you need to communicate, motivate, and inspire people to collaborate--even if they have very different values, lifestyles, or priorities. Learn key steps that bring cohesion to diversity How to have a constructive conversation about working alongside people who are different The four magic words that make this easier and smooth over friction What not to say--and why Learn to set aside differences and get things done Learn how to handle a racist, sexist, homophobic or offensive remark in a professional way Retain your sanity when colleagues drive you crazy The changing demographics of today's workforce bring conflicting viewpoints, perspectives, approaches, skills, habits, and personalities together in one place; whether that leads to synergy or catastrophe is up to you. How to Work With and Lead People Not Like You helps you turn a hurdle into an advantage so you or your team can do more, achieve more, and enjoy the ride.
