Research Guides: LGBTQIA2+ Resource Guide: Articles & Databases

Selected Magazines and Journals

Databases

American History Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and authoritative reference to individuals, events, and topics in U.S. history. Thousands of entries include topical reports, biographies, maps, timelines, primary source documents and images.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for information from millions of journals, magazines, news sources, and media programs covering a wide-range of topics.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth articles that explore more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This database is great for research papers and debate preparation.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal archive for articles on language and literature, film, folklore, and other fields in the humanities.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about “hot social issues” from a variety of resources: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference resources, magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to web sites.
Access Tip: Also available at mel.org
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary research database covering over 160 subject areas. An excellent source for peer-reviewed scholarly resources.
PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Features DSM-5-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
SIRS (Social Issues Resource Series) This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books, images, magazines, maps, and newspapers. Includes articles on social, scientific, historic, economic, and political/global issues. Also includes articles on literature, humanities, and biography.
Note: If you are experiencing problems with the database page loading, clear your web browser's cache and cookies; open a private browsing page; or search using a new browser.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains historical documents, reference titles, and full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

LGBTQ+ Rights (HeinOnline)
Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection is divided into six subcollections, including Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations, and Historical Attitudes and Analysis.

OneSearch

Searching Tips

Before using OneSearch or searching our databases, brainstorm some search terms that will help you get the best results.

Different words will get you different results, so consider all your options, and find synonyms
Use 2-4 keywords
- More words = fewer/narrower results
- Fewer words = more/broader results
Use quotation marks around words that go together to create a phrase or term, like:
- "gender identity"
Shorten a word to its trunk or root to get alternate endings - with an asterisk * (shift 8), e.g., teen* finds teen, teens, and teenagers
Apply the Boolean connector AND to combine unlike ideas, e.g., lesbian AND disabilities
Apply the Boolean connector OR to connect synonyms, e.g., gay OR lesbian