LCC Library News - Research Guides at Lansing Community College Library

Tell us what you think about the Library website by filling out this Library Website Survey.

Here are some resources LCC Library staff use in designing and updating our website:

Usability Testing - Every semester we ask students and employees to use our website to complete tasks and make changes based on what we learn.
Writing for the Web - We follow these principles in writing content for the website.

Interested in learning more about web design?

Create an account in O'Reilly Online Learning to explore the 250+ Web Design Books & Courses available.

Want to see what a website looked liked years ago?

You know you can look up any website on the Internet Archive Wayback Machine!

Recent Posts

Come Listen to Jazz Music on Thursday

What’s that sound coming from the Library and Learning Commons? Music in TLC will return on this Thursday, March 27th at 12 noon in the 2nd floor TLC Atrium, featuring LCC students from the Jazz program. We would like to personally invite you and your friends to take a break and check out the music in the Library atrium. Bring your lunch, bring a friend, or just swing by and check it out. Also, did you know that the Library has a streaming music database? Take a listen to Bach, Beethoven, and other composers on the Naxos Music Library. If you like it, you can enter the Naxos Music Library Essay Contest with a chance to win some cool prizes, including cash! Would you like to share your talents at a future Music in TLC? Contact Chuck Page at pageiic@lcc.edu for more information....

Give Us Feedback about the Library Website

Tell us what you think about the Library website by filling out this Library Website Survey. Here are some resources LCC Library staff use in designing and updating our website:Usability Testing - Every semester we ask students and employees to use our website to complete tasks and make changes based on what we learn.Writing for the Web - We follow these principles in writing content for the website.Interested in learning more about web design? Create an account in O'Reilly Online Learning to explore the 250+ Web Design Books & Courses available.Want to see what a website looked liked years ago?You know you can look up any website on the Internet Archive Wayback Machine!...

Sunshine Week & Freedom of Information Day

March 16-22 is Sunshine week and Freedom of Information Day is March 16. Together these events support the need for open government and freedom of Information. Below is information about the efforts of organizations to ensure government transparency and accountability.Sunshine Sunday began in Florida 2002, led by the Florida Society of Newspaper Editors. National Sunshine Week launched in 2005 by the American Society of Newspaper Editors with the support of the James L. Knight Foundation. In 2019, the American Society of News Editors merged with the Associated Press Media Editors to become the News Leaders Association. Sunshine Week is in mid-March to coincide with James Madison’s birthday, March 16th (1751). Madison was a driving force for the Constitutional Convention of 1787 and presented the 1st draft of the Bill of Rights to Congress. (from About Sunshine Week)The American Library Association (ALA) is a Sponsor of Freedom of Information Day. The celebration of banned books is part of a broader effort to ensure that all types of information remain accessible, which is also goal of Freedom of Information Day and Sunshine Week.Check out one of our eBooks from our Freedom of Information virtual display. Learn more about the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) and Sunshine Week. Take a look at our Banned Books Guide....

Neurodiversity Research Guide

The Neurodiversity guide is now available on the Research Guides page on the Lansing Community College Library website. The guide was developed by the LCC Library with input from the Center for Student Access and feedback from students and faculty who reviewed the content before publication. The guide provides an overview of neurodiversity, lists resources available to neurodivergent students at LCC, and points to information for students and faculty who wish to learn more about neurodiversity. Currently, the Neurodiversity guide is divided into four pages. Neurodiversity: provides an overview of neurodiversityUsing the Library: a detailed guide written in plain language that sets expectations for students who may wish to learn about the library before visitingBooks & Databases: collects resources from the LCC Library about neurodiversity and offers guidance and using them for researchTeaching Resources: a collection of resources for teaching with consideration for neurodiverse classrooms. Includes resources about Universal Design for Learning and a list of books available to checkout to faculty from the Centre for Teaching Excellence As neurodiversity is a growing topic of research and conversation, the content of the guide may change over time to reflect new understandings. The Neurodiversity guide is available at https://libguides.lcc.edu/neurodiversity...

Give Us Feedback about the Library Website

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Give Us Feedback about the Library Website

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.