Research Guides: E-Books: Find E-Books

What is an E-Book?

An e-book is the electronic version of a printed book. E-books are:

convenient
read online from a computer with an internet connection and sometimes downloaded to a handheld device
available 24/7 and located using the Library Catalog
easy to navigate - the table of contents can quickly get to the section you need
searchable - search the text of the book to find information

Read Michigan

Read Michigan
eBooks published by local university presses about Michigan and the Great Lakes region. Includes Michigan Notable Book award winners. Available to all residents of Michigan.

E-Book Databases

E-books have different requirements for downloading, printing, and check out. See the Help pages for each e-book database for specifics.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
eBook High School Collection This link opens in a new window
eBook K-8 Collection This link opens in a new window
eBook Public Library Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink eBooks This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Online Learning: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
First Time Users On the login page, you will be asked for your LCC email address to set up an account (students: username@mail.lcc.edu). Next, you'll receive an email to set up your account. Existing Users On the login page, select "Institution not listed?" Next, select "Already a User?" and enter your LCC email address and then your password.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference e-books for many disciplines including science, medicine, business, and history.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Access to dictionaries, encyclopedias, timelines and a visual dictionary with one click. Great for learning a little about a paper topic before doing research.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the academic version of the complete encyclopedia and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Also includes access to a world atlas, articles, images, videos, and audio files.

Audiobooks

Audiobooks - O'Reilly Online Learning
Audiobooks on a variety of topics such as Business, Leadership, Soft Skills, and Computer Science.
more...less...
First Time Users On the login page, you will be asked for your LCC email address to set up an account (students: username@mail.lcc.edu). Next, you'll receive an email to set up your account. Existing Users On the login page, select "Institution not listed?" Next, select "Already a User?" and enter your LCC email address and then your password.

E-Books from Public Libraries

If you can't find a work of fiction in LCC's collection, try searching area libraries listed below. If you live outside of the Lansing area, check with your local public library. Many libraries allow you to apply for a library card online and access e-books and e-audiobooks from a computer or mobile device.

Capital Area District Library
If you live in the service area, apply for a library card online and find out about online resources.
East Lansing Public Library
LCC students can apply for a library card online and find out about eBooks.
Delta Township District (DTDL) Library
Anyone from the Greater Lansing area can apply for a digital only card online and find out about digital collections.

E-Books: Find E-Books