This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Writing 122 - Composition II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Lansing Community College Library Services

Writing 122 - Composition II   Tags: composition, writing  

Library Resources for Argumentative Essays
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lcc.edu/WRIT122 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Portfolios

Portfolios are due at the end of Week 14 (April 22-28).

 

Research Tips from Writing 122 Students

Use at least two databases to find articles for each paper you write because sometimes, you find different articles in different databases!

 

Specialized Sources

What do we mean by a specialized source in Writing 122?

When looking for specialized sources, focus on primary research, largely "experts writing for other experts":

  • Original research in a peer-reviewed scholarly journal
  • A student interview with an expert in the field
  • A scholarly book published through a university press
  • An original government study or research
  • An approved dissertation

The following would NOT be considered specialized sources:

  • A letter to the editor or news brief in a peer-reviewed journal
  • An expert quoted in a general news source
  • A government fact sheet, web page summary
  • Document such as the US Constitution or laws

Statistics Sources

Find Background Information


Use Gale Virtual Reference Library to find encyclopedia articles.

One Minute Paper

Jen says: Before today I had never opened the "library" tab. Now that I know what this website consists of, it will become very useful, not only for this writing class, but for all of my college courses over the next couple years.

The article databases are quite amazing, the visual thesaurus, all that stuff. I had literally no idea that any of that stuff was available to me aside from just the normal books on the shelf.

Amy E. Garcia says: I think I will use the research databases more often to find my information. I have always relied on Wikipedia, Google, and Bing for research, and plenty of time has been wasted on sorting out the ads from real information I actually needed.

Kayla Muska says: I will use the databases A LOT because I never knew anything about them before. I was always frustrated with Google Search because it took so long to actually find what I really wanted. Now with the databases, I can find EXACTLY what I want, much, much faster.

Kia Johnson says: I will chat with a librarian when I'm at home working on a paper late night.

Katie says: While researching for topics, one thing I will do differently is use all the databases and not just one because it is better to expand your knowledge and research rather than sticking to one database. Plus you will learn more from all the variety.

  • Mobile Site
  • Lansing Community College Library
  • 517.483.1657
  • 2nd Floor, TLC Building
  • Lansing, MI
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip